The Streets Of San Cristobal


wP1010563

I stayed in San Cristobal De Las Casas for almost a week. I didn’t intend to stay that long but was feeling under the weather. The day after I arrived I was feeling bad so I went to see the doctor. One of the great things about Mexico is that the larger pharmacy chains have on site clinics so you don’t need to hunt around for a doctor nor make an appointment. And the price can’t be beat at $3.00 a visit.

Long story short, I had an ear infection. In hindsight this wasn’t surprising – I’d been using the same set of foam earplugs since Texas. One of the symptoms was dizziness so this might explain the little episode I had driving up here the day before(see previous post). The doctor put me on antibiotics and told me to rest up and take it easy for a few days. Well, no better place rest up than Cristobal de Las Casas.

Since July I’ve ridden as far north as Newfoundland (not documented here yet). I haven’t visited many cities or large towns on the way down, but colonial San Cristobal de Las Casas is my favourite to date.

Perched in a valley at eight thousand feet and hemmed in by mountains on all sides, its location is spectacular. The scenery is almost alpine and so is the temperature. It gets very cold at night here, and that was a shock to my system after the torrid lowlands along the coast.  At least it meant no more insect bites for a while, so there’s that.

Many of the city center streets are pedestrian only so it makes for a great place to walk round in. It’s a popular haunt on the “Gringo Trail”, so there’s a huge amount of restaurants and bars to choose from. As much as I like Mexican food, it was a nice break to be able to choose other ethnic foods. I was also expecting Guatemala, the next country on my list, to be a lot more basic, so I ate like condemned man, trying out a different ethnic restaurant every night.

wP1010593

Very Walkable City

Also the coffee is great here too. Despite being an exporter of coffee, it’s very hard to get decent coffee in Mexico. usually when you order a coffee, you get a cup of hot water and a jar of powdered Nescafe! Not so here, there were cafes everywhere.

It’s somewhat of a confluence point for bikers headed south and I ran into a few here. One of them had the same year and model bike as me so it was good to compare notes over a few beers. Then, when I was packing the bike on the day I was leaving, two guys walking past said they were bikers too and recognized me and my bike from this blog! A first real life meeting with readers!

After four days here I was getting restless but wasn’t fully recovered. I took a test run into the hills and confident enough to pack my bags the next day and take off towards the border with Guatemala.

wP1010594

One Of Several Great Old Churches In The City

wP1010558

Night Falls On San Cristobal

wP1010534

Cool VW Beetles Are Everywhere. They Were Produced In Mexico Until 2004.

wP1010572

My Hotel Was On The Other Side Of The Arch

wP1010579

Indigenous Dancers

P1010613

Outside The Hotel

wP1010571

wP1010569

Market In Chamula, Just Outside San Cristobal

wP1010582

wP1010619

Chol, The Mayan Language Is Used As Much As Spanish Here

This entry was posted in Mexico and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Streets Of San Cristobal

  1. Mary Cogan says:

    Glad to hear that you are recovered, and that you have an explanation for your “vertigo” I’m really enjoying my vicarious journey through Mexico and Guatamala. Where will we be spending Christmas?

  2. cjdelgrosso says:

    Great story and have a safe journey! Chiapas is beautiful but dangerous!

  3. great blog Conor, there is a fantastic book in it , looking forward to selling it. Brenda Woulfe

  4. Vincent Carmody says:

    I’de say, with the narrow streets and squares it would be a great place to host a Fleadh Cheoil

  5. dominick says:

    any luck with the dolls ,,keep; the pictures coming looks fantastic ,i wish i was there because the weather here is just brutal no ice yet.

  6. Jim Cogan says:

    I think the picture you paint that city in Mexico is very interesting. I was interested in the notice that you said was in Mayan language. A specially as the notice was in the area unique blue colour, Mayan blue.

Leave a Reply

