Panama City


wP1020310

 Up to now I’ve avoided big cities if at all possible due to heavy traffic and navigation issues. In fact, if there was a way to avoid Panama City I would have taken it. What a mistake that would have been.

The approach to Panama city was memorable. The suburban buildup started about thirty minutes out, but puzzlingly disappeared the last few miles before the city. The road was surrounded by thick jungle on both sides with no buildings  to be seen. Then, I rounded a bend and the Bridge Of The Americas, which spans the Panama Canal, loomed ahead of me.

bridge of the americas

Bridge Of The Americas - Image Courtesy of PR Photography

What a thrill it was crossing this magnificent bridge. I knew getting to the bridge was an important milestone on the trip – more or less the halfway point of the trip – but I was not expecting such a welling up of euphoria as I crossed the bridge. Going over the highest point of the bridge the astounding skyline of the city appeared before me. After over seven thousand miles and so many months of villages and small towns, arriving at this metropolis was exhilarating.

wDSCF5669

On Move Shot Over The Bridge

wDSCF5673

Down Into Panama City

Maybe I was a bit too thrilled. As I was going over the bridge I pulled into the slow lane so I could get a good gawk at the ships passing through the canal below. Well, the car ahead of me had the same idea and slowed down to stare at the ships also. I looked back at the road just in time to swerve and avoid him. No matter, the elation of being here was just too overpowering to worry about minor things like traffic hazards.

I made my way in to the old part of the city, found a cheap hotel and settled in for a couple of days. The old city was part yuppified, part falling down and had a different atmosphere than anywhere else I’d been so far. It was a mix of Latin American, European and Asian – a true crossroads of the world.

wP1020227

Happy To Arrive In Panama City

wP1020226

Old Panama City

wP1020232

View Of The New City From The Old

I spent a couple of days wandering the city, taking in all the sights

P1020250

Old Panama City

wP1020265

Old Panama City

wP1020273

New Panama City

wP1020274

New Panama City

I met fellow travellers, Kary and Omar from Mexico who are also traveling to Argentina in their cool VW Combi. The website is here. They are financing their trip as they go, so if you need any graphic design work done, drop them an email!. See you guys on the road again sometime.

wP1020278

Kari & Omar

wP1020279

And Their Cool VW Campervan

I met up with my biker friends from Santa Catalina and we went to visit Richard Harwood and Lupe at their apartment, which had spectacular views over the city. Richard and Lupe have travelled the world on motorbikes, so much tales were swapped and much wine was consumed. Thanks again for the hospitality!

panama

Socializing With Richard & Lupe

The buses in Panama City have fantastic paint schemes, and the drivers are very proud of them. One of them even stopped in the street when he saw me preparing to take a photo.

wP1020270

Panama City Bus

wP1020297

Panama City Bus - The Artwork Is Amazing

P1020298

Panama City Bus - The Artwork Is Amazing

The Canal

 Of course, a visit to the Canal is almost mandatory so off I went one afternoon to check it out. The Miraflores locks visitor center is only fifteen miles from the city center. The viewing platforms were mobbed, but it was a stunning sight to see these large ships pass so close by. The sequence below shows a ship passing through the canal from the Caribbean to the Pacific. The price to sail your ship through? Oh, just a quarter of a million dollars (based on tonnage and number of containers).

wP1020325

wP1020330

wP1020334

wP1020332

wP1020349

wP1020339

wP1020351

wP1020366

wP1020394

This entry was posted in Panama and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Panama City

  1. Travel blogging is brilliant Do you remember the cliché where the returned traveller invited everyone over and the visitors had to sit through hours of slides of places they wish they had been, or not?
    How lovely to sit at my computer and follow Conor’s contemporaneous accounts of places I will never see.
    Thank you Conor. You describe everything, even the drunks, so well. Your photos are National Geographic standard. I’m really enjoying this journey, albeit vicariously. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

